Book of Creation

Abridged Chapters 1 and 2:


Chapter 1

1. With 32 wondrous paths of Wisdom engrave Yah, and create His universe (did Jah, engrave his name) with three books, with text, with number, and with communication (Sound).

2. Ten Sefirot plus twenty two letters: Three Mothers, Seven Doubles, and Twelve Elementals.

3. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: The number of the fingers, five opposite five, (as there are in man five fingers over against five) with a single covenant precisely in the middle, like the circumcision of the tongue and the circumcision of the membrum (phallus) (by word of mouth, and by the circumcision of the flesh).

4. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: Ten and not nine; ten and not eleven. Understand with Wisdom, and be wise with Understanding. Examine with them and probe them, make a thing stand on its essence, and make the Creator sit on his base (replace Him who formed it upon his throne).

5. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: Their measure is ten which have no end. A depth of beginning, a depth of end; a depth of good, a depth of evil; a depth of above, a depth below; a depth east, a depth west; a depth north, a depth south (6 directions in space). The singular Master, God faithful King, dominates them all from His holy dwelling until eternity of eternities.  

6. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: Their vision is like the "appearance of lightning", their limit has no end. His Word in them is "running and returning" [The Word is in them as they rush forth and as they return.] They rush to his saying like a whirlwind, and before His throne they prostrate themselves.
7. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: Their end is embedded in their beginning, and their beginning in their end, like a flame in a burning coal. For the Master is singular, He has no second. And before One, what do you count?

8. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: Bridle your mouth from speaking and your heart from thinking (meditate). And if your heart runs, return to the place, as it is written, "The Chayot running and returning" (the living creatures ran and returned) (Ezekiel 1:14). Regarding this a covenant was made.

9. Ten Sefirot of Nothingness: One is the Breath of the Living God, blessed and benedicted be the Name of the Life of worlds. Voice, Breath and Speech. This is the Holy Breath (Ruach HaKodesh).

Two: Breath from Breath (from the Spirit He produced Air). With it engrave and carve twenty-two foundation letters - three, Mothers, seven Doubles, and twelve Elementals - and one Breath is from them.

11. Three: Water from Breath. With it engrave and carve chaos and void, mire and clay. Engrave them like a garden plot, carve them like a wall, cover them like a ceiling.

12. Four: Fire from water. With it engrave and carve the Throne of Glory (cube), Seraphim, Ophanim, holy Chayot, and Ministering Angels. From the three establish His dwelling, as it is written, "He makes His angels of breaths (spirits), His ministers from flaming fire" (Psalms 104:4).

13. Five: With three of the simple letters seal "above". Choose three and place them in His great Name: YHV. With them seal the six extremities (directions in space). Face upward and seal it with YHV.
         Six: Seal "below". Face downward and seal it with YVH.
         Seven: Seal "east. Face straight ahead and seal it with HYV.
         Eight: Seal "west". Face backward and seal it with HVY
         Nine: Seal "south". Face to the right and seal it with VYH.
         Ten: Seal "north". Face to the left and seal it with VHY.

14. These are the Ten Sefirot of Nothingness. One is the Breath of the Living God. Breath [from Breath], Fire [from water, and the extremities], up, down, east, west, north and south.

Chapter 2

1. Twenty-two foundation letters: three Mothers, seven Doubles, and twelve Elementals. The three Mothers, AMSh, their foundation is the pan of merit (The twenty-two sounds and letters are the Foundation of all things.), the pan of liability, and the tongue of decree deciding between them. (The Three Mothers are Aleph, Mem and Shin, they are Air, Water and Fire Water is silent, Fire is sibilant, and Air derived from the Spirit is as the tongue of a balance standing between these contraries which are in equilibrium, reconciling and mediating between them.)

2. Twenty-two letters: Engrave them, carve them, weigh them, permute them, and transform them, and with them depict the soul of all that was formed and all that will be formed in the future.

3. Twenty-two foundation letters: They are engraved with voice, carved with breath, and placed in the mouth in five places: AChHO, BVMP, GYKO, DTLNTh, ZSShRTz. (These twenty-two sounds or letters are formed by the voice, impressed on the air, and audibly modified in five places; in the throat, in the mouth, by the tongue, through the teeth, and by the lips.)

4. Twenty-two foundation letters: They are set in a circle as 231 Gates. And this is the sign: There is no good higher than delight (ONG), and there is no evil lower than plague (NGO). (the circle may be rotated forward or backward, whether for good or for evil; from the good comes true pleasure, from evil nought but torment. )

5. How? Weigh them and transpose them, Aleph with each one, and each one with Aleph; Bet with each one, and each one with Bet. They repeat in a cycle. Therefore, everything formed and everything spoken emanates in one name. (Thus in combining all together in pairs are produced the two hundred and thirty-one gates of knowledge.)

6. Form substance out of chaos and make nonexistence into existence. Carve great pillars out of air that cannot be grasped. This is the sign: One foresees, transposes, and makes all creation and all words with one Name. And a sign of this: Twenty-two objects in a single body. (And from the non-existent He made Something; and all forms of speech and everything that has been produced; from the empty void He made the material world, and from the inert earth He brought forth everything that hath life. He hewed, as it were, vast columns out of the intangible air, and by the power of His Name made every creature and everything that is; and the production of all things from the twenty-two letters is the proof that they are all but parts of one living body. )